I am happy to report that today I received ethical approval for the project. This is a fundamental part of today’s social science research landscape, and requires considerable preparation as you consider all the possible ethical implications of the project that you are planning to carry out. In my case, because there are so many different dimensions of the project, this required thinking with different hats on and doing quite considerable research on the ethical considerations that go along with using different and varied research methods. Anyway, it seems that the committee at the University of York were pleased with the application, and commended me on the thoroughness of the application.

This week I have been preparing the questionnaire, ready to be rolled out in the New Year, so watch this space for more updates!

 

